Hydroskin Question

Home Forums General Discussion Hydroskin Question

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Steve Stilwell
      Participant
      • Total Posts: 87

If I need something under a dry top or dry suit I wear polypro. Under Armor or heavier Chili’s for more warmth. Or fleece when it’s really cold. Otherwise just paddling shorts and a polypro shirt. So, I have no personal experience with any Hydroskin garments.

I got my wife a dry top, but other than a wet suit, she does not have anything for bottoms. To those who wear hydroskin pants, if you swim or in the water, are they better than wet suits when wearing a dry top? Do they dry quickly in your boat covered by a skirt? I don’t think she would want to wear a wet suit under the dry top because from personal experience, once submerged you are permanently wet under the dry top.

I know Hydroskin is available in  various thicknesses. Any feedback would be helpful. If I get something ordered for her soon, we can still get it before the clinic.

She does not get along well with cold weather, much less swimming in cold water if it’s less than 90 degree air temp.

Stephen Sheridan
      Participant
      • Total Posts: 19

http://www.kayakshed.com/kokatat/kokatat-tropos-whirlpool-bib

this might be a little expensive, but the bibs are far superior to any kind of neoprene, with a dry top forms a drysuit equivalent, look around to see if you can find a kayak shed discount code or if they are cheaper somewhere else online, i swam in these and a dry top on the nantahala my first year at gaf and I was bone dry, makes the learning to kayak experience way better, 8 years later my bibs are still in great shape (good investment), as long as you don’t go bushwhacking in them they will last a while, they mate with the dry top really well and take a little longer to put on then a drysuit

not a huge fan of dry pants (really should be called wet pants),